2019 Schedule of Events

The remainder of our 2019 schedule:

* Mar. 7 March Regular Meeting, Martinsville. Held at Ranias Restaurant, 6:00 pm. Guest speaker is Philpott General Manager, Chris Powel. He will update us on the physical plant, generation, flows in general, timelines and more. Al Kittredge is the lead. Aakitt@earthlink.net

* April 20 Kid’s Fishing Field Day, Stuart. A new event for us. We will assist as kids fish the stocked Mayo River. Jeff Deering is the lead. Jdeer76@yahoo.com

* April 26-28 Annual Grindstone Camping and Fishing Trip, Troutdale. Great campground, great fishing in Whitetop-Laurel, Green Cove, Beaverdam, S.F. Holston, Big Wilson and much more. Doug Jessie is the lead. D.jessie81@gmail.com

* May 3-5 Watuga River Camping/Fishing Trip, TN. A new excursion for us. Hoping to hit the famed Mother’s Day Caddis hatch. Zach Gossage and Brett Davis are the leads. Zacbdf@gmail.com brettd275@gmail.com

* May 18 Blue Ridge Heritage Foundation Veteran’s Fishing Day, BRP. We assist the foundation with fishing and lunch event. Al Kittredge is the lead. Aakitt@earthlink.net

* June 1 River/Road Clean Up. We will designate a section to clean. Zack Gossage is the lead. Zachbdf@gmail.com

* June 6 June Regular Meeting, Martinsville. Held at Ranias Restaurant, 6:00 pm. Program to be determined.

* June 14-16 South Holston Fishing Trip, TN. Trying to get the same house we rented last year. Over a mile of private river access. Drive to other access. Wade/drift. Doug Jessie is the lead. D.jessie81@gmail.com

* July 27 River/Road Clean Up. We will designate a section to clean. Zach Gossage is the lead. Zachbdf@gmail.com

* Aug. 10 Smith River Fest, Martinsville. We will have our regular booth next to the casting pond. Casting, fly tying, fishing, conservation, TU and SRTU are the topics/activities. Dean Phoebus and Roy Ford are the leads. Dphoebus3@gmail.com r16ford@hotmail.com

* Sept. 5 September Regular meeting, Martinsville. Held at Ranias Restaurant, 6:00 pm. Program to be determined.

* Sept. 21 Fish With A Friend, Bassett. A chance for non-club fisherpersons and less experienced club members to fish with some of our “pros”. River access, strategy, equipment, flies, etc are revealed. Lunch at noon/one? is provided. Joe May is the lead. Jmaydoc@hotmail.com

* Oct. 18-20 NC Coastal Fishing Trip, Harkers Island. Get your salt on! Charter a boat, catch a ride on a member’s, or bring your own. Joe May is the lead. Jmaydoc@hotmail.com

*Nov. 2 River/Road Clean Up. We will designate a section to clean. Zach Gossage is the lead. Zachbdf@gmail.com

*Dec. 5 December Regular Meeting, Martinsville, Held at Ranias Restaurant, 6:00 pm. Our annual State of The Smith report from the VDGIF biologists. Al Kittredge is the lead. Aakitt@earthlink.net

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *